The Trust has a three-tiered volunteer structure: Board of Trustees, Operations (Ops) Committee and Fundraising Committee, including over 100 volunteers.


Peter Crane (Acting Chair)

Phil Wells

Jim Pendergrast (Founder)

Melanie Norton

Kate Akers

Gavin Cherrie

Hans Pendergrast

Hamish Dean

Dave Wills (on leave)

Harry Taylor (on leave)

Sian Bent (on leave)

Administration and Finance Committee

Melanie Norton

Suzanne Williams

Ops Committee

Peter Crane (Chair)

Nigel Veale

Jenny Black

Keith McLeod

Diane Paton

Dave Brown

Dave Edwards

Education, Advocacy and Research Committee

Carole Long

Phil Wells

Hamish Dean

Volunteers, Communication and Database Committee

Kate Akers

Garry Bones

Updated 28/4/15

Other Volunteers

Volunteers are the lifeblood of our organisation and we are fortunate to have well over 100 people actively involved who are passionate about conservation and the Trust’s work at Otanewainuku.

Volunteers bring with them a broad range of skills, they have willingness to pass on knowledge and a desire to expand their own skills. Where required we also send key volunteers on training courses from which they can pass on training. Courses include kiwi handling, mountain safety first aid, trapping workshop, fundraising workshop and toxin licensing.

Roles carried out by volunteers include

  • Trust board members
  • Operations and Fundraising committees
  • Trap line operations
  • Workdays and bait station operations
  • Keeping the freezer full of salted rabbit
  • Monitoring flora and fauna
  • Kiwi monitoring and surveys
  • Advocacy
  • Administration, secretarial, website and newsletter production.

Over 5000 hours every year and thousands of kilometers traveled. Special thanks to all the children who have fundraised for us!

Trustees 2007

Back: Jim Pendergrast, Dave Edwards, Mark Dean, Sharon Seager.

Inset: Maartje Houthuyzen.

Front: Dave Wills, Carole Long, Moana Bianchin, Des Heke-Kaiawha.


Founding Trustees 2003

Back: Jim Pendergrast, John Mullany, Dave Wills, Dan Heke, Mark Dean, Sharon Seager.

Front: Moana Bianchin, Neale Blaymires, Glenn Ayo.

Past Trustee

Heather White


Sign Up

  • Email me news
  • CAPTCHA image
    Enter the captcha code above